## Inaugural Meeting of the Kirkstall Neighbourhood Forum at Paxton Hall on Tuesday 5 January 2016 at 7:30pm

## **Draft Minutes**

**Present:** (44) Helen Ashman, John Barron, Naomi Batten, Graham Bellamy, Mike Bird, Richard Bolam, Tom Brannigan, Melody Brewer, Kate Broughton, Helen Capocci, Wendi Carson, Sam Clarke, James Corah, Barbara Daines, Paul Foster, John Hall, Steve Harris, Barbara Houghton, Sheraz Hussain, John Illingworth, Isobel Jokl, Judith Judd, Sylvia Landells, Daniel Lipzith, John Liversedge, Paul Long, Stuart Long, Philip Marken, Amy McAbendroth, Sam Meadley, Michael Park, Paul Quarmby, Adele Rae, Mary Rennie, Stephen Rennie, Matthew Skelton, Katherine Smith, Austin Stanway, Ken Stratford, Amy Thompson, Fiona Venner, Wallace Wheatley, Lucinda Yeadon and Freya Young.

**In attendance:** Ian MacKay (LCC Planning Department)

**Introduction and Questions:** Copies of the inaugural meeting agenda, existing membership lists, LCC site allocations map for Kirkstall, and the 2010 "Vision for Kirkstall" report were circulated to all present. Members introduced themselves to each other. Ian Mackay and John Hall explained the Neighbourhood Planning process and answered questions from the audience. The formal business commenced at 8pm.

- (1) Election of a Chair for this evening: Michael Park was elected as the Chair.
- **(2) Apologies for absence:** (12) Emma Browne, Fiona Butler, Chris & Mandy Long, Kathryn Lunn, Elizabeth Minkin, Dean Mitchell, Kevin Ritchie, Pauline Scholey, Paddy Sheeran, Gloria Simons, Matt Sykes-Hooban
- (3) **Endorsing the list of members:** The meeting approved lists of 113 members (attached) which include the people who subscribed to the original application submitted last July, those who subsequently joined by email before the inaugural meeting, those who sent their apologies and those who registered for the first time at the meeting.
- (4) **Election of a Board:** The meeting agreed to change the published constitution and elected a board of 14 members: Graham Bellamy, Tom Brannigan, Wendi Carson, James Corah, Steve Harris, John Illingworth, Daniel Lipzith, John Liversedge, Paul Long, Stuart Long, Amy McAbendroth, Adele Rae, Katherine Smith and Ken Stratford.
- (5) Review of rules and policies:
  - a. Constitutional amendments: see item 4 above
  - b. **Initial spending priorities:** this issue was remitted to the Board.
  - c. Website and bulletin board: John Illingworth explained that the interim website and email is currently hosted by A-Q which is a well-known ISP (Internet Service Provider) based in Hunslet. A-Q has particular expertise in SMS text messaging, which may become important if we achieve a diverse membership. There was a discussion about the website name (URL). Some members wanted a longer and more descriptive URL, but others favoured a short title that is easier to type on smart phones and tablets. This issue was referred to the Board. Members were

- reluctant to spend large sums on website design and agreed to retain the current low-cost system pending a detailed review. Members recognised the importance of data security and working to recognised professional standards including HTML5, PHP and MySQL. The Board was asked to monitor and review progress.
- d. **Boundary dispute:** About 300 houses, flats and maisonettes in the Foxcrofts, Queenswood Drive, Queenswood Gardens, Queenswood Rise and Queenswood Road are presently allocated to the Headingley Neighbourhood Plan. This creates problems for the Queenswood Tenants and Residents Association (QTARA) whose operating area is split in half. Graham Bellamy warned that a similar issue might arise in reverse if West Park Residents' Association decided in future to apply for designation as a Neighbourhood Forum. Members asked the Board to negotiate with Headingley, seeking a more satisfactory solution.
- (6) **Possible topics for discussion:** There was a request to add Nature Conservation to the list of topics for discussion. Members also requested that a more concise description of the neighbourhood planning process, with an approximate timetable should be published on the website. In view of the lack of time for debate on this occasion the Forum agreed to return to these issues at the next full meeting.
- (7) **Dates, times and venues for future meetings:** It was agreed that the Board would meet as soon as possible in order to prepare for a meeting of the full Forum in approximately two months time. The detailed arrangements were remitted to the Board.

The meeting closed at 9:10pm.

Cllr John Illingworth 8 January 2016

## Members approved at the Inaugural Meeting 5 January 2016.

forename	surname	forename	surname	forename	surname
Lynette	Aaron	Madge	Hague	Ilinca	Pirvulescu
Nick	Anderson	John	Hall	Andrea	Purdy
Helen	Ashman	Steve	Harris	Paul	Quarmby
John	Barron	Naomi	Henderson	Adele	Rae
Sandra	Barry	Susan	Hopkins	Cynthia	Ramsden
Naomi	Batten	Barbara	Houghton	Mary	Rennie
Graham	Bellamy	Angela	Hulme	Steven	Rennie
Mike	Bird	Sheraz	Hussain	Howard	Richman
Richard	Bolam	John	Illingworth	Tom	Ridley
Jean	Bosomworth	Isobel	Jokl	Evelyn	Roberts
Tom	Brannigan	Judith	Judd	Claire	Rose
Charlie	Bray	June	Jukes	Mary	Ruston
Kevin	Bray	Grace	Kinchin	Andrea	Scarfe
Sue	Brear	Sylvia	Landells	Pauline	Scholey
Melody	Brewer	Anne	Lane	Paddy	Sheeran
Kate	Broughton	Rita	Lee	Gloria	Simons
Emma	Browne	Stefan	Lesnianski	Matthew	Skelton
Edward	Browning	Daniel	Lipzith	Jude	Smith
Fiona	Butler	John	Liversedge	Katherine	Smith
Patricia	Camm	Chris	Long	Austin	Stanway
Helen	Capocci	Laura	Long	Ken	Stratford
Nick	Carson	Mandy	Long	Matt	Sykes Hooban
Wendi	Carson	Paul	Long	Amy	Thompson
Cecilia	Cass	Stuart	Long	Fiona	Venner
Sam	Clarke	Kathryn	Lunn	Gordon	Vickers
Keith	Collridge	Philip	Marken	Victoria	Walker
James	Corah	Bea	Marshall-Ngan	Neil	Walshaw
Eric	Cox	Amy	McAbendroth	Anna	Warble
Barbara	Daines	Sam	Meadley	Ken	Waterworth
Kay	Davis	Jean	Mellor	Sheila	Waterworth
Simon	Dawson	Joan	Midgley	Wallace	Wheatley
Jonathan	De Aston	Sue	Mills	Mike	Winter
Robin	Edwards	Elizabeth	Minkin	Rose	Wood
Connor	Flannigan	Dean	Mitchell	Barbara	Wright
Paul	Foster	Jane	Moran	Vic	Wyatt
Natalia	Gerodetti	Roger	Moran	Lucinda	Yeadon
Dave	Gilbert	Peter	Owen	Freya	Young
Lydia	Gregory	Michael	Park		

Companies: Corporate Estates Group, Kirkstall Valley Park, Vantage

**Community Groups:** Burley Top, Burley Village, Claytons, Gilberts & Sandford Road, HWCA, HAVA, Kirkstall Valley, Spen Hill, Moor Grange / West Park, QTARA

Councillors: John Illingworth, Fiona Venner, Lucinda Yeadon